Books & Beyond

Author Interview – Colin Falconer @colin_falconer

Posted on: January 6, 2014

Image of Colin Falconer

What do you hope your obituary will say about you?

‘We apologize for yesterday’s typographical error. He’s not dead yet.’

Location and life experiences can really influence writing, tell us where you grew up and where you now live?

I was born in a terraced house in north London and we moved to a little fishing village in Essex when I was 4. It grew into this horrible satellite dormitory suburb and I just couldn’t wait to get out of there. I used to play a lot of Springsteen. Baby this town rips the bones forn your back, got to get out while we’re young. Born to Run. And boy, did I run. I eventually raised my own family in a surfing and wine growing area in south west Australia. Now my girls are grown I live in Barcelona.

What else do you do to make money, other than write? It is rare today for writers to be full time…

I’ve been a full time professional now for 29 years. I started in advertising – 90% bullshit and 10% commission – then I was a freelance journalist then became a full time novelist in 1990. I paid off three houses and raised a family from writing. None of it was easy.

What other jobs have you had in your life?

What I wanted to do was play for Manchester United but they didn’t want to play with me. I had trails with a top flight English club – Southampton – and didn’t make it. I drove taxis while I was learning to write. I worked for 13 years as a volunteer paramedic in Australia. Working as a volunteer paramedic is a book on its own! I would be sitting at my desk typing then my pager would go off and half an hour later I’d be crawling into a car wreck feeling for a pulse. It was an unusual life.

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?

Right where I’m living now – Barcelona. The people are great, there are tapas bars everywhere, you can get a beer any hour of the day or night, and you can feel history in every stone.

Isabella

She was taught to obey. Now she has learned to rebel.

12 year old Isabella, a French princess marries the King of England – only to discover he has a terrible secret. Ten long years later she is in utter despair – does she submit to a lifetime of solitude and a spiritual death – or seize her destiny and take the throne of England for herself?

Isabella is just twelve years old when she marries Edward II of England. For the young princess it is love at first sight – but Edward has a terrible secret that threatens to tear their marriage – and England apart.

Who is Piers Gaveston – and why is his presence in the king’s court about to plunge England into civil war?

The young queen believes in the love songs of the troubadours and her own exalted destiny – but she finds reality very different. As she grows to a woman in the deadly maelstrom of Edward’s court, she must decide between her husband, her children, even her life – and one breath-taking gamble that will change the course of history.

This is the story of Isabella, the only woman ever to invade England – and win.

In the tradition of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick, ISABELLA is thoroughly researched and fast paced, the little known story of the one invasion the English never talk about.

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Historical Fiction

Rating – PG-13

More details about the author

Connect with Colin Falconer on Facebook & Twitter

Website https://colinfalconer.wordpress.com/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Share

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

my read shelf:
Dale McKay's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

%d bloggers like this: