Books & Beyond

The Jonas Trust Deception by A.F.N. Clarke @AFNClarke

Posted on: January 8, 2014

The Jonas Trust Deception

by AFN Clarke

AFN CLARKE is the author of 8 books, including the best selling memoir CONTACT, that was serialized in a British newspaper and made into an award winning BBCTV film.  His latest novel, The Jonas Trust Deception, is a Thomas Gunn thriller and follows the success of The Orange Moon Affair.  Readers have called it “classy, complex and cunningly compelling” and a “powerful force in the thriller genre”.  In solving the mystery of an ongoing conspiracy involving his old friend Morgan, Thomas Gunn, ex-Special Forces, takes an action so shocking and bold, that even his team fear he’s lost his mind.  The question is, has he?  To get a taste of things to come, here’s an excerpt from the book.  And for more information visit www.afnclarke.com or the Amazon Kindle store.

I didn’t like Los Angeles at the best of times, but at night the frantic polluted city took on a different tone, seeming more like a Middle East war zone than a modern developed American city. It was here in the gang-controlled ghettos where the comparison between the poor and the super wealthy came into stark contrast. The dividing lines could be as simple as from one side of the street to the other.

Gangbanger cars prowled the darkness, full of young men without hope whose sole purpose was to kill. Drugs proliferated and the Mexican cartels held sway in the dingy darkness. The Global Financial Crisis didn’t affect the people here, only their middle class neighbours who stared from their over mortgaged homes in fear of ending up in the ghetto. Police sirens wailed and helicopters flew overhead as occasional gunshots echoed through the dirty dark dry heat of the summer night.

‘What on earth was Morgan doing down here?’ I wondered. ‘And what did a seedy Latino ghetto have to do with international high finance?’ More questions.

A black 1955 Chevy Bel Air low rider cruised up beside me, and the young wispy moustached passenger looked across, daring a confrontation. I knew that he probably had a MAC-10 on his lap. I drove as if they weren’t there. After a minute they accelerated down the street, bouncing the front suspension up and down on hydraulic rams. There was something unsettling about their appearance and in the rear view mirror I saw another low rider following.

It was a trap.

I slammed into the back of the black Chevy as it braked hard. Tried to reverse but was pinned in by the low rider behind. Running wasn’t an option as the gangbangers spilled out of their cars and surrounded me, handguns and MAC-10s levelled. A couple of them looked out-of-place, more Caucasian than Latino, with a military style about them. The leader, a short wiry man in his late twenties indicated for me to get out.

There are times in your life when you just know you’re going to die.

This was one of them, and it made me angry.

“¿Qué diablos está sucediendo?” I shouted as loudly and aggressively as I could muster.

“Chill güey. Get in the car.” He indicated the low rider and moved aside to allow me past. With guns levelled at me this was no time to argue.

Within moments I was sandwiched between two gangbangers, who stared at me expressionlessly. In less than two minutes we pulled up to a sleazy rundown block of houses in a lightless street.

“Out,” commanded the leader and led the way with a flashlight, followed by two of his henchmen while the others stayed outside.

Sweat trickled down my back and I felt the hairs on the back of my neck standing up, convinced that this was where I was going to meet my end. I followed the man into the building. He stopped, turned to me, pointed down the darkened hallway and handed me his flashlight.

THE JONAS TRUST DECEPTION

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Thriller

Rating – PG-13

More details about the author and the book

Connect with A.F.N. Clarke on Facebook & Twitter

Website http://www.afnclarke.com/

Leave a Reply

Share

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

my read shelf:
Dale McKay's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

