Books & Beyond

Peter Simmons and the Vessel of Time by Ramz Artso @RamzArtso #YA #Adventure

Posted on: January 27, 2014

Image of Ramzan Artsikaev

Who or what influenced your writing over the years?

Christopher Nola’s Inception influenced my writing a lot.

What do you consider the most challenging about writing a novel, or about writing in general?

Remembering stuff is the most challenging thing about writing, if you ask me. You have to memorize eye color, hairstyles, etc. So keep organized notes.

Did writing this book teach you anything and what was it?

It taught me how to construct a better plot.

Do intend to make writing a career?

I most certainly do hope to make it a career.

Have you ever had writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it?

Yes, I have had writer’s block and more than once. What do I do? I just write, until it makes sense, watch movies, read books, write again.

Can you tell us a little about your main character?

My main character is a seventeen-year-old boy who has a unique ability. That, in turn, makes him special. He is a usual boy, but due to his powers, he has no other option than to man up and save the world, otherwise mankind will perish.

How did you develop your plot and characters?

It took me years to develop the plot and characters; I just kept rewriting them and adding character traits as well as taking them away, until I was satisfied.

Who designed the cover?

Igor Lykyanov designed the cover. He is a great illustrator. I adore his work.

Who is your publisher?

I am my own publisher, as I’m an indie author.

Why did you choose to write this particular book?

Because, as a Harry Potter and Twilight fan, I felt that the market is lacking that special, magical touch to it. I asked myself, what would someone like me like to read, and I came up with the Peter Simmons series.

How do you promote this book?

I use social networks and ask book reviewers to check out my book.

Will you write others in the same genre?

Yes, I most definitely will write others in the same genre, which is young-adult. I’ve also got a lot of paranormal romance coming up.

Is there a message in your novel you want readers to grasp?

In my entire Peter Simmons series – yes. I want readers to understand that we, as sapient beings, have to have enough sense to support each other and concentrate on our similarities not differences. If we accomplish that, we will be much stronger and happier, as a global society.

How much of the book is realistic?

A lot of it is realistic, especially the ‘penultimate parts’.

Have you included a lot of your life experiences, even friends, in the plot?

No, the book has very little to do with me and my personal life.

How important do you think villains are in a story?

I think villains make up fifty percent of the book. That’s exactly why I give so much attention and great detail to my main villain.

Who is your favorite author and why?

J.K. Rowling is my favorite author, because her Harry Potter books are exceptionally interesting.

Can we expect any more books from you in the future?

You can definitely expect a lot of books from me in the future. And I mean a lot!

Have you started another book yet?

I have started another three books.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

In five years, I see myself writing, regardless of whether or not I achieve the readership I desire.

What are your current writing projects now?

My current writing projects are: A book about zombies with a teenage female protagonist, a book about vampires and sorcerers, also with a teenage girl protagonist, and a book entitled Antonia Bells, about dragonborns (magicians) and humanoid elves. The latter two are paranormal romance.

Are you reading any interesting books at the moment?

Unfortunately, I’m not reading anything right now, no.

What are some of the best tools available today for writers, especially those just starting out?

Some of the best tools available for writers are online dictionaries, the thesaurus, Word and Google.

What contributes to a writer being successful?

Sticking with it no matter what. If you love writing and keep practicing it, sooner or later you will reach your audience.

Do you have any advice for writers?

Yes, my advice for writers is: Get a great book cover and write and read as often as you can. Try to read all genres, even if you don’t like them, and mix your authors. The more diversity, the better.

If you could leave your readers with one bit of wisdom, what would you want it to be?

My one bit of wisdom is the following: Be kind to each other, and one day, kindness will come your way.

When you wish to end your career, stop writing, and look back on your life, what thoughts would you like to have?

When I end my career, I’d like to look back on all of my work and think that I couldn’t have done it any better. But that, unfortunately, is an impossibility – as there’s always room for improvement.

Ramz_cover_3_blueBG_1800x2560

Peter Simmons thinks he is an ordinary boy, before he is abducted by a man with certain special abilities, learns of his inescapable destiny, befriends immortals and becomes famous worldwide. Why? Because Peter Simmons is mankind’s last hope for survival.

Buy Now @ Amazon

Genre – Young Adult, Action and Adventure, Coming of Age, Sci-fi

Rating – PG-13

More details about the author

Connect with  Ramz Artso on Facebook & Twitter

Website http://ramzartso.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Share

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

my read shelf:
Dale McKay's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

